There’s No Place Like Home #kickedoutkids

One of the things I sometimes do is Guest blog for Lisa Cherry. I’ve written six articles mostly about care leavers. Back in February, a Channel 4 documentary Kicked Out Kids, explored the issues facing young care leavers. It was shown at a stupidly late time but nonetheless, it still trended on Twitter. For those not familiar with Twitter that just means that a huge amount of people were discussing it. The nation was talking; the nation was seeing government policies for care leavers in real life, possibly for the first time.

I still feel the trauma and stigma that being in care left imprinted in my body like the letters in a stick of rock. I had never known anything other than being in care. I still remember leaving my children’s home in 1974, I was 16…

You can read more of this article here 

This entry was posted in Blog, Care Leavers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

